Election Commission of India

Election Commission of India

About Election Commission of India:
The Election Commission of India (ECI) is a constitutional body responsible for administering elections in India according to the rules and regulations mentioned in the Constitution of India. It was established on January 25, 1950 with an aim to define and control the process for elections conducted at various levels: Parliament, State Legislatures, and the offices of the President and Vice President of India. In other words, the ECI ensures smooth and successful functioning of the democracy.

Role of Election Commission of India:

In its assigned role, the most crucial challenge before the Election Commission of India is to implement norms and the Model Code of Conduct to ensure free and fair elections in the country. Its existence and independence are necessitated by history, which has shown that democratic elections are not free from sabotage. Towards this end, it has been empowered to oversee political parties and candidates and take appropriate action in case of violations.

Structure of Election Commission of India:

The secretariat of the Commission has 300 officials, and is located in New Delhi. The Deputy Election Commissioners and Director Generals are the senior-most officers in the secretariat. The President of India appoints the Chief Election Commissioner of India, who serves for six years and must retire at the age of 65. The Commissioner is generally a member of the Civil Services, and more often, of the Indian Administrative Services (IAS) or the Indian Revenue Services (IRS). He can be removed from his office through the process of impeachment, which needs to be carried out in the Parliament. The President of India can remove the other officers on the Chief Commissioner's recommendation.

Functions and Powers of Election Commission of India:

The main functions of the Election Commission are as follows:
  1. The Election Commission of India is considered the custodian of free and fair elections.
  2. It issues the Model Code of Conduct in every election for political parties and candidates so that the dignity of democracy is maintained.
  3. It regulates political parties and registers them for being eligible to contest elections.
  4. It publishes the allowed limits of campaign expenditure per candidate to all the political parties, and also monitors the same.
  5. The political parties must submit their annual reports to the ECI for getting tax benefit on contributions.
  6. It ensures that all the political parties regularly submit their audited financial reports.
  7. Some of the powers wielded by the Election Commission are as follows:
  8. The Commission can suppress the results of opinion polls if it deems such an action fit for the cause of democracy.
  9. The Commission can advise for disqualification of members after the elections if it thinks they have violated certain guidelines.
  10. In case, a candidate is found guilty of corrupt practices during the elections, the Supreme Court and High Courts consult the Commission.
  11. The Commission can suspend candidates who fail to submit their election expense accounts timely.
Budget & Expenses:
The Election Commission of India and the Union Finance Ministry finalise the budget for the former's Secretariat, which is liable for an independent budget. The recommendations of the Election Commission are generally upheld by the Ministry of Finance. The concerned states and the Union Territories have to manage the expenses of elections being held, but it is the Union Government who bears the expenses of the Lok Sabha (parliamentary) elections entirely. In case of the legislative assembly elections, the concerned State bears the expenses. If the Lok Sabha (Parliamentary) and the assembly elections are taking place at the same time, the gross expenditure is equally shared amongst the Union Government and the concerned state(s). 

Address and Contact details:
Election Commission of India
Nirvachan Sadan
Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001
Tel: 011-23717391 
Fax: 011-23713412
Email: feedbackeci@gmail.com 
Election Commission of India Official Website : http://eci.nic.in/

Write an Email :
Use the email ID complaints@eci.gov.in to lodge a complaint.

The National Contact Centre Toll-Free number is 1800-11-1950
National Contact Centre Operational between 8 AM to 8 PM on all working days

Contact Details of Election Commissioners of India are:

Om Prakash Rawat is the present Chief Election Commissioner of India.
Name                                   Designation Email Office No.                               Office Fax
Mr. Om Prakash Rawat Chief Election Commissioner N/A 23052137,23052138 23052139
Mr. Sunil Arora                 Election Commissioner N/A 23052323,23052424               23052525
Mr. Vijay Kumar Dev Deputy Election Commissioner N/A 23052133                 23052157
Mr. Sandeep Saxena Deputy Election Commissioner N/A 23052023,23052024 23052025
Mr. Umesh Sinha        Deputy Election Commissioner N/A 23052081,23052226 23052227
Mr. Sudeep Jain           Deputy Election Commissioner N/A 23052232                    23052234
Mr. Dilip Sharma                    Director General         N/A 23052032,23052093                     N/A
Mr. Dhirendra Ojha                         Director General N/A 23052015                         23052203

List of Former Chief Election Commissioners of India
S.No. Name                    Tenure
1 Achal Kumar Jyot July 6, 2017 to Jan 23, 2018
2 Nasim Zaidi Jan 19, 2015 to July 5, 2017
3 H. S. Brahma Jan 16, 2015 to Apr 18, 2015
4 V. S. Sampath Jun 11, 2012 to Jan 15, 2015
5 S. Y. Quraishi Jul 30, 2010 to Jun 10, 2012
6 Navin Chawla Apr 21, 2009 to Jul 29, 2010
7 N. Gopalaswami Jun 30, 2006 to Apr 20, 2009
8 B. B. Tandon May 16, 2005 to Jun 29, 2006
9 T. S. Krishnamurthy Feb 8, 2004 to May 15, 2005
10 J. M. Lyngdoh Jun 14, 2001 to Feb 7, 2004
11 M. S. Gill Dec 12, 1996 to Jun 13, 2001
12 T. N. Seshan Dec 12, 1990 to Dec 11, 1996
13 V. S. Ramadevi Nov 26, 1990 to Dec 11, 1990
14 R. V. S. Peri Sastri Jan 1, 1986 to Nov 25, 1990
15 R. K. Trivedi Jun 18, 1982 to Dec 31, 1985
16 S. L. Shakdhar Jun 18, 1977 to Jun 17, 1982
17 T. Swaminathan Feb 7, 1973 to Jun 17, 1977
18 Nagendra Singh Oct 1, 1972 to Feb 6, 1973
19 S. P. Sen Verma Oct 1, 1967 to Sep 30, 1972
20 Kalyan Sundaram Dec 20, 1958 to Sep 30, 1967
21 Sukumar Sen Mar 21, 1950 to Dec 19, 1958


Post a comment

Top Blogs